Help with camera questions...

Discussion in 'Digital Cameras & Equipment' started by scpergj, Jul 29, 2007.

1. scpergj

scpergj Member

Hi...

My family and I love to go to WDW. We live up in the Jacksonville area, and get annual passes about every other year. This year, our kids will be 9 and 5, which brings me to my question.

I am new to this site, and found it while looking for camera information. I'm posting here because I have an equipment question.

I currently have a Sony DSC-P52 point and shoot digital, as well as a Mamyia/Sekor 35mm, model 1000DTL, with two lenses...a Mamiya/Sekor 55mm f1:1.4, and a Hanimex 135mm f2.8. I am a pretty good photographer with this quite old camera (it was my grandfathers, and I know it's almost as old as I am...probably 35 years old or so), and have taken some quite nice pictures, but it's old, film, and HEAVY!!!

So...my question. I have determined that it is time to upgrade my photographic equipment, and have been looking at the various dSLR's. I have played with the Canon Rebel XTi, the Nikon D40x, and the Nikon D80, actually with the intent of purchasing a Canon Rebel XTi...and I hated it. My favorite, by far, was the D80. It just felt right in my hand.

I've read reviews all over the internet, and even checked out some photography magazines. Interestingly, I've found the overall reviews to really like the camera except for the price, and even some of those said it was worth it.

I would like to hear opinions from others that have used any of these cameras in real time, both for general family pictures as well as at WDW, I would appreciate hearing your experiences.

Thanks

Kevin

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 11, 2014
  2. Roger

Roger Member Staff Member

Hi Kevin, welcome to the Boards. If I recall correctly there are some Nikon D80 users here, so hopefully they'll stop by.