Hello Everyone

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by romar00, Jan 2, 2007.

1. romar00

romar00 Member

Hello Everyone,

I just wanted to introduce myself. My name Jason from Tuscaloosa, Alabama and I am a college instructor for the University of Alabama and I am big Disney fan.

I am new to the board and I am looking for some advice. I will be going to Disney World January 28th till February 3rd and wanted to know what camera equipment most people bring. I have a Nikon D50 with a 28-80. I do have a small budget to buy some more equipment if needed .Thank you for help.

Jason

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 11, 2014
  2. AUBandPilot

AUBandPilot Member

Hey Jason! First off, I won't hold it against you that you work for UA (War Eagle!!! 2000 AU Grad) ;)

Second, welcome to TMIP!! Hopefully, we will be able to answer all your questions.

Congratulations on your upcoming World trip! I think the answers to your questions are based somewhat on what type of pics you want to take. If you want night pics or fireworks, a tripod is a must!!!! Check out this thread for tripod suggestions. I assume that lens (28-80) has a max apature of about 3.3 on the wide end, so, dark ride pics are going to be very hard to get sharp. A prime lens with max apature of 1.4 or 1.8 is your best bet there. Your current lens will probably be fine for most pics including night, fireworks, etc.

Some of us go gung-ho with 17-20 pound backpacks with 5-8 lenes, while others pack light with just a single lens.
    For example, here is what I recently took to MouseFest.....

Tamrac Expedition 5 Backpack
    Canon Digital Rebel XTi Body
    Canon 10-22mm lens
    Canon 17-85mm w/IS lens
    Canon 28mm f/1.8 lens
    Canon 50mm f/1.4 lens
    Canon 85mm f/1.8 lens
    Canon 70-200 f/2.8 w/IS lens
    Canon 1.4 Teleconverter
    Quantaray 2.0 Teleconverter
    Quantaray 900 Flash
    Plus Batteries, CF cards, etc.
    Then tripod when I needed it. (Loockers are your friend!!!!)